Maine Wage and Payroll Tax Facts

February 02, 2024

Having to comply with unique state taxes and wage laws can make processing payroll doubly daunting. Here’s everything you need to know about these rates and laws for the state of Maine.

The state of Maine imposes substantially higher minimum wage rates than those required by the federal government in the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Case in point, the overall minimum wage rate is nearly double the FLSA required rate.

Moreover, Portland and Rockland City also have local minimum wage rates that are similarly higher than the federally required rates.  
When it comes to processing payroll, Maine-based organizations must handle the following taxes in addition to those required by the federal government:

The below information was last updated January 30, 2024. It is not intended as legal or tax advice.

Maine Minimum Wage Rates

Wage Type

Maine Rates

Federal Rates

Minimum Wage



Tipped Minimum Wage



Actual Tip Credit



Local Minimum Wage Rates

In addition to the state-wide minimum wage rates above, some cities have unique minimum wage rates as well:

Wage Type

Portland Rates

Rockland City Rates

Minimum Wage



Tipped Minimum Wage



Actual Tip Credit



Maine State Income Tax (SIT) Rates

Maine's SIT is progressive, meaning it adjusts based on the income level of the employee paying the tax.

Filing Status Income Tax Bracket
[Over X] - [But not over Y]
2024 Income Tax Rates
Single $0 - $26,050 5.80% of excess over $0
$26,050 - $61,600 $1,511 + 6.75% of excess over $26,050
$61,600 or greater $3,911 + 7.15% of excess over $61,600
Married $0 - $52,100 5.80% of excess over $0
$52,100 - $123,250 $3,022 + 6.75% of excess over $52,100
$123,250 or greater $7,825 + 7.15% of excess over $123,250


Additional Maine SIT Details

Supplemental Withholding Computation


Valid Filing Statuses

  • S = Single
  • M = Married; claiming both
  • MD = Married; withhold at a higher single rate
  • NRS = Nonresident; single
  • NRM = Nonresident; married


  • Any services or individuals not subject to withholding under the Internal Revenue Code
  • Employees exempt from federal withholding
  • Interstate carrier employees
  • Nonresidents who work in Maine for short periods
  • Nonresident aliens and corporations
  • Nonresident spouses of military personnel
  • Retirement income of nonresidents

Form W-4

Form W-4ME

Reconciliation Frequency


Maine State Unemployment Insurance (SUI) Rates

SUI provides unemployment benefits to eligible workers who are unemployed through no fault of their own (as determined by state law) and meet the state’s eligibility requirements.

Maine SUI Tax Details

Taxable Wage Base


Employee Subject to Tax


Rates for Experienced Employers

0.28% – 6.03%

Rates for New Employers*


Effective Period

Calendar Year

Voluntary Contributions Allowed

Yes; due 30 days from rate notice mailing date

*This includes the base 2.04% rate, the 0.15% Unemployment Program Administration Fund tax, and the 0.13% Competitive Skills Scholarship Fund tax.

Maine State Disability Insurance (SDI) Rates

SDI benefits are normally funded by employees through mandatory payroll deductions from each paycheck. Maine, however, doesn't require employers to collect an SDI tax.

Miscellaneous Maine Tax Information

Reciprocal Agreement(s)

Reciprocal agreements are when workers who live and work in different states are only required to pay taxes to the state where they live. Maine currently has no reciprocal agreements with any other states.

This doesn’t mean, however, that interstate workers living in Maine pay double. It’s federally illegal for two states to tax the same income. In most cases, the employee’s work state will credit or refund them at tax time based on the taxes they owe their home state. If the tax rates differ, the employee must cover the difference.

Paid Sick Leave (PSL)

The state of Maine doesn’t require employers to collect PSL taxes, but it does have an Earned Paid Leave (EPL) program providing such leave to eligible employees:

Maine PSL Details

Covered Employees

All, except for those in seasonal industries

Covered Employers

Those with more than 10 employees in Maine for more than 120 days in any calendar year.

Accrual Method(s)

1 hour per 40 hours worked

Carryover Maximum

40 hours

Annual Accrual Maximum

40 hours

Probationary Period

120 days (optional)
Frontloading Allowed Yes


Earned Paid Leave General FAQs

Paid Family and Medical Leave (PFML)

Maine's PFML program will be funded via mandatory payroll deductions and employer contributions. It will begin collecting contributions January 1, 2025, and eligible employees will be able to begin submitting claims on January 1, 2026.

Maine PFML Details

Covered Employees

All full and part-time employees who've earned at least six times the state average weekly wage in the first calendar quarters immediately preceding the first day of the employee's benefit year

Covered Employers

All (regardless of employer size) except federal government employers

Amount of Leave

Up to 12 weeks each for family and medical leave

Leave Use Maximum

16 weeks in a single year

Tax Rate

1.00% (split evenly between employers and employees)

Wage Replacement

90% of income equal to or less than 50% of the state's average weekly wage ($1,036).

If an employee's wages exceed 50% of the state's average weekly wage, the program will replace 66% of the wages up to the maximum weekly benefit.

Maine Employer Registration

The agencies below can help with your state-based employer registration, including best practices, account numbers, and unemployment information. Contact Revenue Services for withholding tax topics and the Department of Labor for unemployment tax topics.

Registration Details

Revenue Services

Department of Labor


(207) 624-5644

(207) 623-7900

Online Registration

Maine Tax Portal Homepage ReEmployME Employer Registration Page

Registration Form

Application for Tax Registration ReEmployME Employer Registration Form

Registration Instructions

Online and paper registration options are available. Account numbers will be issued in 3-5 days via online process or 3-5 weeks via mail.

Employer Self-Service Login

Maine Tax Portal Homepage

Bureau of Unemployment Insurance Login Page

Additional Maine Payroll Tax Resources


This information is provided as a courtesy and may be updated at any time. It is not intended as legal or tax guidance. If you have questions or concerns, we encourage you to seek the advice of a qualified CPA, tax attorney, or advisor.


Get Taxes Done Right, Without the Stress

We know there's a lot that goes into preparing and filing payroll tax forms. Save time and get support from our expert team. As a Registered Reporting Agent with the IRS, we can help prepare and file all the necessary forms you need to remain compliant - even in the face of changing legislation. Learn more here.

Payroll Tax Services